1/3HP Blower To ? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2009, 04:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

1/3HP Blower To ?


I want to upgrade the blower in my Carrier unit from 1/3HP to 1/2HP or above. Is there a limit on the HP without making major electrical upgrades ?

The motor that is in it right now is :

GE 3585

1/3 HP

115 Volts

1075 RPM

6.1 AMP

Advertisement

franleck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 05:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

1/3HP Blower To ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by franleck View Post
I want to upgrade the blower in my Carrier unit from 1/3HP to 1/2HP or above. Is there a limit on the HP without making major electrical upgrades ?

The motor that is in it right now is :

GE 3585

1/3 HP

115 Volts

1075 RPM

6.1 AMP
The life of the contacts in the relay that controls this motor may be shortened by going to a higher power motor.
The 1/2 hp motor will draw ~6.1x(0.5/0.3)= 10A so the wires that were carrying 6A will now have a temp. rise above ambient 3x higher than before so the life of the wire insulation may be shortened.
You may not notice either of these effects.

Advertisement

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 05:13 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,526
Rewards Points: 4,690
Default

1/3HP Blower To ?


Guess you have poor air flow. And want to do this to push more air?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 01:13 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

1/3HP Blower To ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by franleck View Post
I want to upgrade the blower in my Carrier unit from 1/3HP to 1/2HP or above. Is there a limit on the HP without making major electrical upgrades ?

The motor that is in it right now is :

GE 3585

1/3 HP

115 Volts

1075 RPM

6.1 AMP
Unless the existing motor is so overloaded by static pressure that it can't reach it's rated speed you probably won't see much difference in airflow just by changing the motor. The new motor will be the same rated speed as the old, so unless you also change the blower wheel you probably won't see much additional airflow.
jstjohnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comfortmaker blower intermittent problem jh44ny HVAC 12 07-31-2011 07:41 PM
Heat comes on but blower never does aczer HVAC 12 02-13-2011 07:57 AM
Acceptable Blower Vibration John_NH HVAC 15 11-21-2010 01:49 PM
Bryant Furnace Blower Running Constantly GhostBuster HVAC 15 11-30-2008 10:08 PM
Blower control board mlmaher HVAC 1 11-24-2007 02:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts