Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-15-2010, 09:24 PM   #1

Share |

What treats powdery mildew on grass

I'm having a problem with powdery mildew on my lawn. I water M-F in the morning to avoid fungus problems. I overseeded in the fall, and have been overseeding the last 2 years. My backyard was wooded but I cleared the trees and have been trying to grow grass, it's now coming in nicely in areas but dying in other areas. When I was mowing the other day, I noticed powdery mildew in various sections and I also just noticed mushrooms growing. So I'm looking for treatments that hopefully won't kill my lawn. Any recommendations?
tdeepness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 03:53 PM   #2

I'm no expert, but I also get powdery mildew whenever we have a long wet spell. You mention that you water M-F. Is that every day, Monday through Friday? It's my understanding that you should only water once or twice a week, but water very deeply. Allow the grass to dry out for a couple of days between watering.

My lawn care man said he could spray an anti-fungal, but that it was expensive and didn't last very long. The only long-term solution is to overseed with a fungus-resistant grass.

Rick
houseinthewoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 04:47 PM   #3
Don't know it all, yet!

Rick is correct in watering only once per week for established lawns. The mushrooms are a dead giveaway of too much water. The best treatment is probably the cheapest. Let it dry out- to the point of almost wilting. The water deeply like a camel.