Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-25-2013, 08:55 AM   #1

Share |

Typical newbie questions...

So, I'm in New Brunswick (on the east coast of Canada) and have been a homeowner for almost a month now. It's a new home in a new subdivision and although the final filling and grading of our lot hasn't been done yet, I've been thinking of what I need to learn.

Since I am a complete newb and have no experience landscaping (other than cutting grass) I would like some tips on what I need to do from scratch.

This is also my first post...

ikethearmyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 09:03 AM   #2

This site has all the info you could ever need.
http://www.scotts.com/smg/home/home4...rm=BING_scotts

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 10:44 AM   #3
Master General ReEngineer

Quote:
Originally Posted by ikethearmyguy View Post
So, I'm in New Brunswick (on the east coast of Canada) and have been a homeowner for almost a month now. It's a new home in a new subdivision and although the final filling and grading of our lot hasn't been done yet, I've been thinking of what I need to learn.

Since I am a complete newb and have no experience landscaping (other than cutting grass) I would like some tips on what I need to do from scratch.

This is also my first post...
Ayuh,.... 2 rules of landscapin' are,....

#1, Pitch the grades away from the house...

#2, Water flows Downhill...
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 11:52 AM   #4

Well the developer we bought the land from will be grading the "final product" so water will drain away from the house (that much I did know lol). I guess what I need to know is what to do once he says "you can start seeding now". I wasn't joking when I said I have no idea lol
Old 03-25-2013, 06:38 PM   #5