This Time I'm Doing The SOD Work Myself - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-30-2011, 08:27 PM   #1
I love my new front yard!

Rewards Points: 150
Exclamation

This time I'm doing the SOD work myself

But I'm not sure how to do it right so I'm looking for pointers..

At the top of the below picture is a gate that needs to open from time to time & I plan to leave the drainage pipe on the right there as a boarder between the sod & the house.

I was figuring that having a slope from the foot of the picture to the gate top left might be a good idea for drainage toward my hedges outside the gate.

How much slope is best?
What should I do before laying the Sod besides a top soil mix?
I'm just starting out with this tiny area as a learning project before I start taking on the back yard.

I plan to have St Agustine being this will be be where the dog hangs out & from what I've learned, for dogs your pretty much best off with St Agustine?

Advertisement

Telfair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:32 PM   #2
Tileguy

Rewards Points: 2,580

The slope is up to you and what the terrain may dictate. Once the sod is installed keep it watered/soaked for a while to encourage root expansion and to keep the soil soft so as to accept the roots.

Advertisement

Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:38 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 610

If this is where the dogs hang out then sod is never going to last for long.
I'd use some form of stone so the dogs will not dig and the urine will just soak into the soil below.
1/4" per foot no matter what you put down.

Last edited by joecaption; 11-30-2011 at 08:48 PM.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:46 PM   #4
I love my new front yard!

Rewards Points: 150