Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-09-2010, 09:42 AM   #1

Share |

Should I mow it after this heat?

This may be a beginner question, but I am a beginner homeowner

I live in NY, where we've just had a stretch of days in the upper 90's, no rain. I mowed my lawn about a week ago, right before all the heat came. The lawn is not completely dead, although it has lost some of its color, it is a mixture of greens and browns now. We're supposed to get heavy thunderstorms tonight. Would I be better off mowing it before the storm hits, or letting it go until it dries up afterwards, which looks to be a few days. As far as length, it is at the point where I'd like to mow it again (I don't take off more than 1/3). It seems like once it rains, the grass grows really fast, to the point where I either have to raise the mower, or bag it.

Durt Ferguson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 09:50 AM   #2

I just mowed mine since we are supposed to get thunderstorms the next 2 days

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 11:15 AM   #3

I too lived thru recent bout of triple digits...I am hoping to cut Saturday, giving time for slight recoop b4 storms brew!! Hot Hot Hot!!!

Nbr mowed the other day, slinging up dust storms...
Han'D' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 05:30 PM   #4

With the high temps and no rain in site, I'm letting the lawn go, starting to brown out front, I hate the tall weeds but I hate burnt grass even more,, and no, I'm not watering it. A heavy thunderstorm will roll off before it has time to soak in, ground is getting hard from the heat.
Old 07-09-2010, 06:14 PM   #5
Wire Chewer