Retaining Wall In Progress - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-11-2009, 01:24 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 500

retaining wall in progress

just wanted to share some in progress photos of the retaining wall i've been working on.
this is my first time ever having attempted stone work.
it started off very rough indeed; i was completely frustrated and on the verge of tears every day for awhile.

i'd get just enough of a tiny little taste of success here and there to fuel on me on a little further. then, i really broke through it all - feeling confident in my ability to basically tool anything to fit anywhere.

this is "great meadow limestone," and every single stone you see here has been chiseled for a tight fit. i was very clear with my vision from the start what i wanted this to look like - nice and tight, no chinks or shims visible anywhere on the face, and some sort of "movement" or "flow" in the wall.

i'm starting to run very low on the thick wall stuff, and now am left with about 3 tons of thin wall stuff. today is a frustrating day so i'm taking a break to share this with you all.

here's a bunch of pictures.

before

figuring out layout with the hose (it changed from this slightly)

das trench, about 10-12" deep.

nearly full with 3/4" crushed stone.

a random section of base. i'm regretting the hell out of throwing in that goofy one on edge like that. structurally i'm not worried about it, but basically it looks stupid and it's hard trying to work stones around it.
i wanted it to create movement, but i didn't realize how easy it was to create some flow without doing something that extreme... ah well...

here's where i was about a week ago.

this is from a few days ago. i've since added a lot tot he left and basically it just needs the capstones, which are off to the side.