DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Remulching my yard is NOT an option, other suggestions? PICS

8K views 20 replies 10 participants last post by  herbolaryo 
#1 ·
I bought my first home last year and yard was beautifully landscaped. The lawn is 24K sq ft. In the backyard, there are two huge areas where some trees and plants grow which were nicely mulched. Now, most of the mulch has broken down. I need to remulch the areas, the problem is, one is 48x20 and the other is 40x25. This, plus the front of the house which is another 500sq ft. It would cost me $41/ cu yard for hemlock and EVEN if I only put down 2" on top of what is left there now it will cost $600 delivered. No way can I do that. For 3" we are talking $1000. I need alternative ideas. I like the areas, I don't think I want to just plant grass around them. I could greatly reduce the size of the mulch, but I think it might look funny. Other suggestions? Cost is a major factor - I'm very new to landscape. Thanks.

Here is a picture showing the two areas, I can get better ones later.

Attachments

See less See more
#9 ·
Thanks, unfortunately It doesn't look quite the way it is in those pics - the mulch areas have broken down significantly more than that and are haboring weeds like crazy. I have to do something. But the greenspace really is nice, regardless as is the peace and quite and tranquility. Its 24K sq of green and the woods are 5 miles deep!

These are my friends all summer long

Attachments

#6 ·
$3,600 / 10 years = $360/year < $600/year

Personally, I'm not in the market for that amount of mulch, so I can't say I've considered it myself. If you look at the benes, it's eco friendly and:

Made from 100% recycled tires
Environmentally safe & sensitive (does not consume forest resources)
All colors are non-toxic, HAPS-free & non-staining
Exclusive Microban Protection
Non-harmful to children, pets or animals
Will not attract termites or Insects like other mulches