Removing Old Grass With Tiller? - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-18-2009, 01:37 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 150

Removing old grass with tiller?

Hi all,

I want to look into removing all the "grass" and weeds on my yard so that I can prep for new sod. I have never done this before. I have seen that some people use a "grass cutter" machine and then they use the "tiller" to loose the ground. I would have to rent either machine I used, therefore I would like to get just one. Since I really do not care to recycle any of the old grass can I just ran the "tiller" machine to stir the earth which I would assume will be removing the grass and weed from the roots.

Is there any special treatment recomended before installing the new sod? like fertilizer...etc?

Thanks

Advertisement

gante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 08:55 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,000

Use the tiller. not sure why you do not want to recycle the grass, since this will help add nutrients to the soil. Till, rake add starter fertilizer. Let sit a few days. Then sod. Water heavy every three days to establish deep roots.

Advertisement

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 02:53 AM   #3

One reason I do not want to keep any of the old grass is because there is a lot of weed and other wild plants in it. That is the main reason I think it would be easier to remove the whole thing and start fresh. As it is the old grass, if any left is in bad shape and with lots of dry spots all over the place.
Old 04-19-2009, 04:06 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 2,352