Recycled Concrete Patio--where Do I Start? - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-31-2012, 02:37 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

recycled concrete patio--where do I start?

Hi--
I'm a newbie, so just wanted to say hello, and glad I found you. I have a million questions so thank you in advance for any advice you might offer.

I'm interested in laying a recycled concrete patio, but I'm not sure where to start. I'm a single mom so my budget is tight, and I'm trying to use what I have in a creative way. I live on an acreage in the country (100 year old farmhouse) in a northern climate, so I need to worry about heaving during freeze/thaws. I currently have a large concrete floor and foundation on my property from an old farm building that came down in a storm--it has to be removed anyway--and my plan is to break the floor and foundation up into manageable pieces with a bobcat and then a sledgehammer (I have teenage sons) to use for the project. I also already have a 6-8 inch deep area of sand bordered with landscaping timbers with landscaping cloth underneath in the perfect spot and size for the patio--I had a very large above ground pool there during summers when my children were a little younger.