Question On Cutting Back Perennials (I Think) - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-12-2011, 10:48 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Question on cutting back perennials (I think)

I've got a question about this mass of plants next to my driveway. I think they are some kind of perennial but I'm not sure. I'm also not sure what to do with them. Here is a picture of the mess of plants:

My neighbor mentioned to me that I should "cut them back". How far do I cut down? Do I go right down to the soil and shear everything off? As you can see in the picture most of the stuff is dead on the ground. But what about the things still standing? Are those weeds? Should I cut those too?

I am a complete gardening noob, so any help would be greatly appreciated thanks!

Advertisement

thinksincode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 12:31 PM   #2
Stuck in the 70's

Rewards Points: 1,018

How long have you lived there? (In other words, do you know what it looked like last spring/summer?)

What do you want to do with it? Are you going to take up gardening and replant or keep it up, or would you rather have it grass?

Advertisement

Blondesense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 12:48 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 75

Sorry, should have mentioned that. I have only been in the house for a couple of months, and so they were already dead when I moved in (mid-October).

I managed to find a picture of the house over the summer (from the old real estate listing):

I currently know little to nothing about gardening, but would like to learn. Would be nice to keep the plants there.

I just don't know what I need to trim and cut now.
thinksincode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 01:31 PM   #4
Stuck in the 70's

Rewards Points: 1,018

I really don't know much more about gardening than you do.