Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-10-2012, 07:52 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Please give advice for newby...

My name is Anthony. I am trying to figure out the best cheap way to get rid of my old lawn and reseed with new grass. The size is about 1/3 of an acre. It is mostly rock and dirt right now but where there is grass it is extremely thick and heavy. Do I just till it and leave the old grass in, taking out the rocks and reseed? If I can't afford to, do I really HAVE to put new soil down?
Also, in another section of my lawn (total yard = 1 acre), another 1/3 section, is mostly moss. I am not sure how this happened, but how do I get rid of the moss and turn it into grass?

Please help me. I am new to this, But extremely willing to learn, so please bear with me. I am not familiar with a lot of landscaping terms. Thank you for your time and efforts.

Last edited by New_guy; 05-10-2012 at 08:09 AM.
New_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 08:23 AM   #2
MarginallyQualified

Rewards Points: 2,038

Quote:
Originally Posted by New_guy View Post
My name is Anthony. I am trying to figure out the best cheap way to get rid of my old lawn and reseed with new grass.
The best (cheap) way is to rent the proper equipment to do what you can do yourself then to hire out what you can't do yourself.

Doing ANY part of the basic process improperly or poorly or incompletely or with inferior materials is where the costs will start to pile up. (This is true of any remodeling project btw)
---

REMOVE the old sod
Remove anything else that isn't soil (like larger rocks).
Add good clean soil and other amendments as needed
(something is always needed)
ROTO-TILL to work in the old and new soil and amendments.
Roll the lawn flat and smooth paying attention to grading and rain water flow.
Consider some additional drainage and irrigation if appropriate.