Planting Grass Where A Driveway Once Laid - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-10-2011, 10:45 PM   #1
LCB

Rewards Points: 10

Planting grass where a driveway once laid

Hi everyone!

I'm new to DIY. I've just finished a great deal of schooling and now have the energy to turn my attention to my back yard. Unfortunately, I have more muscle and time than money. So, here's my project....

I recently had a few slabs of my driveway removed with the idea that I would replace it with lawn/garden. I now have a 15ft by 18ft rectangle that is about 3-4 inches deep and filled with the rubble that exists after removing concete slabs. This area is right next to my existing lawn/patio. And, of course, I don't have any real idea of how to go about getting to the point where I can lay sod over this area.

What should I do from here? How much depth do I need to create lawn? How much of this rubble should I remove? What kind of soil should I use to fill this area? Any guidance you have would be great!

Thanks.

LCB

Advertisement

LCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:57 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCB
Hi everyone!

I'm new to DIY. I've just finished a great deal of schooling and now have the energy to turn my attention to my back yard. Unfortunately, I have more muscle and time than money. So, here's my project....

I recently had a few slabs of my driveway removed with the idea that I would replace it with lawn/garden. I now have a 15ft by 18ft rectangle that is about 3-4 inches deep and filled with the rubble that exists after removing concete slabs. This area is right next to my existing lawn/patio. And, of course, I don't have any real idea of how to go about getting to the point where I can lay sod over this area.