Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-04-2013, 10:55 AM   #1

Share |

New home owner needing yard help

Im new to this and was seeking some advice for what I would need. Mostly product recommendations because there are so many products out there I dont have a clue where to start and can't afford to get ripped off.

Is there a recommended site or book to get me started on my research? Thanks to anyone who can give me help.
Attached Thumbnails
New home owner needing yard help-20130404_104241.jpg   New home owner needing yard help-20130404_104256.jpg  

word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 11:04 AM   #2
"You can do anything"-Mom

Where are you located?

brockmiera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 11:24 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by brockmiera View Post
Where are you located?
located in Missouri
Old 04-04-2013, 11:39 AM   #4
Too Short? Cut it Again!

I always advised clients to do two things in your situation first.

1. Find a good soil lab, ask them how to sample your soil, and pay them the surprisingly little amount they charge. When States had money their extension office used to do them for free. A good soil lab will tell you all kinds of things about what to add to your soil in the form of nutrients but also how to correct the soil to adjust basic chemical imbalances like Ph just to start.

This land of yours looks like it has relatively new construction on it? Developers may have scraped and even hauled all the nicest top soil away to prepare the land for building. Ironically and sadly, you may have to buy some back from the places haul it.