DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Need cheap ideas for landscaping - edging & plants?

12K views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  Bushman 
#1 ·
I have very little knowledge and little to no experience in landscaping, but the outside perimeter of my home is in desperate need of it. I would greatly appreciate and ideas for low-maintenance, cheap & easy ideas for cheap any easy ideas anyone wants to throwout there for edging and plants.

Some Details:
NW side of home is 24 ft. long is somewhat sloped away from house and it shaded by 3 trees. Grass doesn't really grow in between 2 of those trees and the house. Plus, some parts of the roots of that tree are above ground... The trees sit about 7-11 ft away from the house. (best guess w/o being home and measuring).
SW side will another run of about 24ft., but this side has no trees or any other sources of shade. I'll try to post some pics later.

#2 ·
For edging, the rolls of the black plastic stuff do a good job on the cheap - just install them correctly and you don't even know they're there.

To layout your bed, take a garden hose and stretch it out along where you would like the edging to go. You can easily move it, try some curves, and not mess anything up. Once you get it where you like it, you can get a measurement of how much edging you'll need (and can also figure out the area). The stuff I just bought from Menards a few weeks ago was like $5 for 2 30' rolls. Add in a couple bucks for some metal stakes. More stakes are better than less.