Mini Cultivators - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-15-2011, 11:21 PM   #1
Tileguy

Rewards Points: 2,582

Mini Cultivators

What can anyone tell me about the mini cultivators on the market today.

I've looked at Stihl, Troy-built mini, Earthquake, Mantis.

Borrowed a Mantis and rented a Stihl but stll don't have a feel for performance and reliability.

Any comments?

Advertisement

Old 06-15-2011, 11:40 PM   #2
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 3,242

Mini Cultivators

My folks had a Mantis for several years----If they are as good as they used to be that one worked well.

I've owned Stihl chain saws--all good there and finding service on a Stihl would be easier than the other brands---

I have no personal experience with any of them.---Mike---

Advertisement

Bud Cline (06-16-2011)
Old 06-16-2011, 09:34 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 75

Mini Cultivators

i have an earthquake MC43 Viper high performance 43cc engine and have had pretty good success with it. i have used it on 4 pretty large cultivation jobs where i tilled up surface grass and clay soil it work wonderfull with enough power to get the job done. there is only one problem i have had with it and that is the on off toggle switch. the two wires that attach to the switch come off while cultivationg. so i just have to pull the spark plug wire off to cut off the engine. i remedied this by using my wire cutter and crimping the connections down which should have been done at the manufacturer but i guess were not. all in all good cultivator.just a tip- i just used mine to make alittle garden for my tomato plants...loosen up hard soil with your shovel this makes chopping the dirt much easier wish i would have thought of it when i was doing my last big job...lol

Last edited by rollinastang; 06-16-2011 at 11:44 AM.