Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-16-2012, 03:59 PM   #1

Share |

Levelling ground for swing set - Questions

Hello all. Newbie here with a new house, so probably will be here a fair amount.

I need to level a fairly large backyard area for a swingset, about 30'x25'. I also need to dig it out to contain about 12" of mulch to minimize injury from the inevitable falls. The backyard is sloped and crowned, the NE corner being the high point, and the SW corner the low point.

Questions:
1) Since the leveling and play-area perimeter (probably timber?) will create a terrace of as much as 14-16" at the SW point, do I need to consider any retaining-wall type capabilities, or will timber/rebar suffice?
2) Since the perimeter wall will cross most of the yard, should I get fancy and cut in steps?
3) Drainage is good now. Since I am leveling a decent size area and putting down a weed barrier, do I need to create some sort of drainage channels under the timber to prevent pooling and encourage the mulch to dry after rains? Also, since the crown drops off rapidly at the western edge of the area (which is also the fence line to my neighbor, should I plan on a French drain of some kind to keep from flooding his yard in heavy rains?
4) Should I put down stone over the weed barrier to help with drainage, or is a couple inches of sand/soil sufficient?
5) Last, are there any red flags or possible concerns I seem to be overlooking?

I could provide a pic of the yard if it helps.
Many thanks in advance,
FS

fatsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:49 AM   #2

pix of the area would be cool definitly run a french drain along the lowest side to run the water off take note of the low points now when it rains there before the dig

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 03:31 PM   #3