How Will I Start In Growing Grass! - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-16-2014, 09:32 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 101

How Will I Start in Growing Grass!

Ok this is my first time ever in trying to grow lawn grass? and need a lot of help on how to start ! I just would like to see something green growing instead of weeds.

Attached Thumbnails
How Will I Start in Growing Grass!-101_1227.jpg  

Advertisement

bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 10:33 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 564

If that's the final grade, it looks a bit close to the bottom of the siding.

If you have plans for an irrigation system, install it first. Have your soil tested to see what it needs for amendments, then seed away. I personally don't like seeding in the spring. New lawns need lots of water and if the summer is really hot, you have to water even more.

Advertisement

Old 05-17-2014, 03:10 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 75

I agree with djlandkpl. The best time to place seed or sod is in early fall. Let mother nature help you and keep your water bill down. The grass will go dormant in the winter while snow collects, then Spring thaw and rains will again help you out before you come to summer. If you plant now and you have a warm summer, your water bill is going to be very high.
RoundedRooster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 10:47 AM   #4

Like the others have said Fall is the perfect time to start a new lawn. In cold-weather climates like where you are, fall’s cooler temperatures prevent the seeds from drying out, but there’s still enough sun and rain to help them germinate before going into hibernation for the winter, without the competition of crabgrass and other weeds that die off in the Fall. If you are going to install an irrigation system do it before you seed the lawn.