How To Start Foundation For Retaining Wall, On A Slope. - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-10-2012, 02:34 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25
Question

How to start foundation for retaining wall, on a slope.

Im trying to build a retaining wall and have a few questions. There was ivy there, but it didn't look good, so I removed it. Now I would like to build an elevated and level area to put grass. I've never done this before, if any additional info is needed, let me know.

I'll give you the picture first. the level line may be faint, so I put yellow areas at the starting points.

The driveway goes downhill in the area and that is the line I want to follow

I only want to build it a little higher than the base of the wall in the background, using the same type of blocks.

In the pic I have a pink line that is level, showing that on the right the wall will be higher than on the left. the line is close to the height I will be making the wall.

how deep should I dig for the walls foundation? say if the answer is 1 foot. should I start with a 1 foot depth at the low end then dig a level trench, making the high end a 3 foot trench when looking at it from the drive?

Im thinking that I will pour cement in the trench once I figure out how I should start. But Im not sure If the foundation should be poured before laying any blocks, or at the same time?

Do I need rebar in this wall?

thanks
Attached Thumbnails
How to start foundation for retaining wall, on a slope.-level-line-wall-copy.jpg  

Advertisement

bokeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:09 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 85