How Much Topsoil Has To Be Under Sod - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2009, 10:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 75
Default

How much topsoil has to be under sod


Hey everyone,

Just a quick one. How much topsoil do I need to have to put sod onto.

I have a bunch of concrete at different elevations in my Yard and I am hoping to break it up, add new topsoil and sod over some of it if possible.

Just thinking of a way to avoid driving concrete to the landfill. My old Toyota Echo has done too much of that already.


Thanks


Advertisement


Last edited by Oldhouseowner; 04-05-2009 at 10:24 PM. Reason: spelling
Oldhouseowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 04:38 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How much topsoil has to be under sod


The main thing with either sod or seeding is the soil prep. The worst thing for either is compacted soil which may be significant in the area under the concrete. If you have lots of clay or lots of sand you should add a good amount of quality topsoil and/or compost and till it in to loosen the soil 6-12". Sodding on compacted, poor soil is not going to be successful. Hope that helps.

Advertisement

sportyjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 05:44 PM   #3
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 486
Rewards Points: 250
Default

How much topsoil has to be under sod


I wouldn't advise sodding OR seeding over concrete unless the concrete is 12 or more inches down. Ole SOL that warms everything else on this rock will definitely warm soil 1-2" thick over concrete one heck of a lot faster than over 12" of any kind of soil only. It will literally cook the bejesus out of sod and dehydrate plain old seed to just dust in a day or two. I speak from experience. I took out an old crumbling brick BBQ/fireplace for my father and was pooped at the end of the day. I saw that Dad had originally poured a 6" concrete base for this monster and I had no desire to try to break it up and haul it away. I dumped about 4" of new black pulverized top soil on top of it planted much seed and starter fertilizer and watered like Hell for a week. All I got was a nice black cooked dry square of 4" deep black topsoil. I put down less than day old thick fresh sod, fertilized it and watered like Hell for a week. It looked good and showed signs of taking hold. It was alright that season, but the next spring when everything else greened up I had this nice square brown patch of dead year old sod. After finally digging up and breaking up the concrete and hauling it away I put in more dirt (plain old field soil) planted seed with fertilizer and he had green grass forever.
Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 07:00 PM   #4
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,831
Rewards Points: 2,296
Default

How much topsoil has to be under sod


Ayuh,... I agree,... You'll need to bury it a foot or more...
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how much mulch and topsoil econdave Landscaping & Lawn Care 6 05-02-2007 07:08 AM
Topsoil Estimate Josh2007 Landscaping & Lawn Care 3 04-27-2007 11:46 AM
Brick Patio - leveling Patcho Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 04-24-2007 02:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts