Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-05-2007, 10:47 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

How to improve clay soil for a lawn

I currently have an existing lawn with what I believe is clay soil. The soil is rock hard, and the water rolls off the lawn. I plan on tilling the lawn in, then adding something to improve the quality. Should that something be topsoil, mulch or ???. Also, how much of it should I need, such as 3", 6" or ???. I am a relatively newbie at this, but am just tired of having a brown yard no matter how much I fertilize or water. Any ideas are appreciated!

werc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 01:40 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 150

Besides water rolling off, have you dug into the soil to confirm? Other reasons that water roll off is thatch build up on the lawn. So aeration and de-thatching can fix that.

slakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 07:00 AM   #3
Agent 000

Rewards Points: 250

Quote:
Originally Posted by werc View Post
I plan on tilling the lawn in, then adding something to improve the quality. Should that something be topsoil, mulch or ???. Also, how much of it should I need, such as 3", 6" or ???.