Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2012, 01:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

How do I prepare ground for framed shed?


My back yard is Florida dirt/sand with oak saplings sprouting everywhere. I want to put up a shed, but I'm worried about the saplings popping through the floorboards later on. What's the best way to remove them, or kill them off before I lay a crushed rock foundation?

Claybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,765
Default

How do I prepare ground for framed shed?


No idea on how big they are. If there big enough I pull them out with a chain so roots and all come out.
Use a matox to cut the roots.
Spray the area with total vegitation killer.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:33 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,417
Default

How do I prepare ground for framed shed?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Claybird View Post
My back yard is Florida dirt/sand with oak saplings sprouting everywhere. I want to put up a shed, but I'm worried about the saplings popping through the floorboards later on. What's the best way to remove them, or kill them off before I lay a crushed rock foundation?


I hope your not going to build that shed on top of the crushed rock,at least put it on deck blocks.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,765
Default

How do I prepare ground for framed shed?


The siding on a shed should be no closer then 8" of the grade. Any closer and it's going to rot.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:54 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Default

How do I prepare ground for framed shed?


I grew up building with masonry, framing, roofing, so I'm good with all the building. I was just concerned with the ground prep. It will be sitting on deck blocks. The saplings are very small, but heavily rooted.
Claybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 05:47 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,417
Default

How do I prepare ground for framed shed?


The deck blocks are 8 inches high,so take care of the saplings and you're good to go.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:47 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,477
Default

How do I prepare ground for framed shed?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
matox
???


http://www.google.com/search?q=matox...Hof28gTx2YnhCA
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 11:54 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Default

How do I prepare ground for framed shed?


Im going to remove what I can and use the vegetation killer. I don't know what a matox is though.
Claybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:45 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Default

How do I prepare ground for framed shed?


Stumbled on this thread... thought I'd put in my two cents if anyone else is interested:

Oaks are not weeds--they are slow-growing. Just rip them out and put the shed on top.

Don't worry about plants growing through the floorboards, as plants will not grow without sunlight.

Personally, I'd dig up the oaks and put them somewhere else in the yard. Oak trees are fantastic, valuable, and these are likely native (so there's no extra maintenance required--ever).
Biologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 05:40 PM   #10
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Default

How do I prepare ground for framed shed?


I would relocate them if you have room also. Or someone may want them if you can dig them out.

If not, cut them off as close to the ground as possible. Paint---not spray---a vegetation or stump killer or something like Roundup on the cut.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 11:48 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 30
Default

How do I prepare ground for framed shed?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
maddox?


dariusld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 Amps for a garage help IcyShadowz Electrical 48 05-31-2012 10:58 PM
Multiple Ground Rods, help Ralph III Electrical 72 02-14-2012 09:31 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Wiring a Shed and Garage abedj Electrical 1 05-08-2009 11:09 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.