Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-31-2012, 12:42 AM   #1
sacramento plumber

Location: born and raised in San mateo ca. living in Sacramento Ca for 3 years now.
Share |

hard to kill

i'm looking for the best or hopefully a easy way to get rid of what looks like clover in our front lawn and we have bare spots any recommandation on something that would work on that .If i dig down in those spots and there is a green mesh is that what the sod came with?I'm just a dumb plumber please help
wctekkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 07:02 AM   #2
Too Short? Cut it Again!

hard to kill

The mesh would not have been part of the sod. It sounds like it was part of one of those matt systems that had seed, mulch, fertilizer and top dressing all bundled into one. The mesh was like backing on tile and kept it all as a unit.

You should identify the weed for sure before treating it with something that will not work. If it is clover something like Ortho Weed-B-Gone in spray form will get it eventually but you may need several applications. If you haven't (and it is late for Sacramento) you might lay down a Weed-N-Feed product assuming you have not already fed the turf with a time release product. You do not want to burn it. You can just get the weed part of it in granular form but you may need an applicator license or permit in California. PREEN is one brand consumers can get here. Make sure you get a POST EMERGENT and not a PRE EMERGENT herbicide for this though.

Roundup and a tank sprayer where you can control the stream of chemicals and reduce pressure to minimize overspray will do the trick. Roundup is a non-selective systemic herbicide and will kill most anything it touches.