Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-12-2012, 02:59 PM   #1

Share |

green house in Central Florida

Here's my plan... I gave a lot of thought to this. but I'm not very experienced at growing my own food.

I am looking to build two separate mid-sized green houses. They will be 4.5 feet wide, 6 foot tall peaked center with 4 foot tall side walls. And 6 foot in length. There will be 3 trophs in each built from wood placed in a U shape against the side and rear wall so I have the center to take care of all plants. The frame will be built from 2x4's and lined with 6mil plastic sheet.

The trophs will be built all the same size. Which is 4 foot by 15 inch, and 2 foot in depth. They will have legs that are 6 inchs tall. This will only leave 1.5 feet from the height of the dirt to the side wall top. So I plan to place the shorter plants along the side walls, and the taller plants at the back wall where they will have 3.5 feet from the dirt to peak to grow.

*as I stated in the title, I live in central Florida (Orlando) and am looking to grow a few veggies to eat year round. Reason is, I want to become more self sufficient and control more of what I consume.

*Questions:

1.The reason I am building two is so I can have one house for warm weather plants, and another for cool/cold weather plants. This way I can control the temperatures in each and continue to grow and produce food year round. Is this even possible?

-Plants I am looking to grow (each one in there own troph (except for Spinach & strawberries which will grow in the same):

-Cool/Cold: Broccoli, Carrots, Spinach & strawberries, -Warm: Red bell peppers, Jalapenos, Tomatoes