Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-17-2012, 01:37 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Gravel Driveway Erosion

Hi,

I am an amateur operator with little experience and believe my busted driveway could be a good project to get some more experience. This is a rental property I have been at for 3 years. The driveway has always been bad, and this year the realtor finally sent a man with a tractor and box scraper to fix it...well he smoothed it out nicely but it washed out with the first big rain. He then attempted to cut a drainage ditch on the side of the driveway to keep water off the gravel, but the ditch is higher than the driveway about halfway down, so the water runs back into the driveway, so we have ruts again. I haven't seen the man with the tractor for about 3 months so I want to propose a plan of my own to the realtor, in hopes that they will rent a piece of equipment for me to fix this on my own. I was hoping I could get some insight on this project from people who do this kind of work regularly. This is a couple shots of the driveway from the roof to give you a perspective of how it is laid out. Sorry the tree is in the way. The driveway travels uphill from the road, turns right and runs in front of the house, finally turning up to the left and around to the back of the house (not pictured).
Attached Thumbnails
Gravel Driveway Erosion-theroof1.jpg   Gravel Driveway Erosion-theroof2.jpg  

Last edited by dcm3030; 09-17-2012 at 01:56 PM.
dcm3030 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 01:39 PM   #2

Gravel Driveway Erosion