Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-19-2010, 11:57 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Garden conversion

I'm very new to all of this home improvement stuff. I have a house that we bought last year and have a nice backyard. The backyard is mostly a flower garden with some some small bushes and tiger lillies and the sorts. We want to convert it to grass. I've basically decided to wait until the first frost (we live in upstate NY) and pull up all of the big plants and bushes. Then we think we're just going to till the rest, rake it, and plant seed come Spring. Any thoughts on this idea? Again, we're new to this and want it to look as nice as possible. On another note, we have a new puppy so he uses this space to do his "business" so applying chemicals to kill the plants is not an option a this point. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

erichwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 12:46 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,068

Garden conversion

That's pretty much the process. A lot of people plant seed in the fall, but I have encountered mixed results in that regard, so I just wait for spring any more. Either way, you'll probably have some issues with the new puppy, but that is pretty much unavoidable, so just something that you'll have to deal with. If you are in a subdivision, or otherwise have closely adjoined neighbors, it is possible that some of them have enjoyed seeing the plants and flowers that are there, so before pulling and tilling, you may want to ask if any of them would like some of them. Just a thought.

DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 12:59 PM   #3

Garden conversion

I've read where people use vinegar as a natural way to kill plants and weeds. Any thoughts on that?
Old 10-19-2010, 01:32 PM   #4

Garden conversion