Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2012, 12:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

frost free hydrant ?


hello , DIY forum i have an outdoor frost free hydrant and when we use the hydrant . the port that drains the water out of the pipe faucet so that it
will not freeze stays open when on but shuts completely off
when off .

so when it is in use there is a-lot of water wasted through the frost free port .

are there a repair for this ? or will the hydrant need replaced ?

thx for any suggestion's very appreciated Raspy

raspy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 12:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

frost free hydrant ?


Look on the side for a clamp where the handle attaches to the shaft that opens and closes the water valve.
The old ones where steel and rusted off.
The newer ones are brass.
Sometimes the hex bolt that does the claming comes loose and has moved on the shaft.
Post a picture if the style you have.
There should be a brand name on the handle, look it up on line for direction on your make.
http://www.ehow.com/how_4661373_repa...d-hydrant.html


Last edited by joecaption; 06-23-2012 at 12:51 PM.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 01:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

frost free hydrant ?


thx for the quick response , the hydrant is a merrill mfg co ( any flow ) im sure it is over 30yrs old there is a hex
adjustment under the handle .

my question is will the hex adjustment affect the way the frost free port works ? sense the port
is under ground ? i thought there may be debris or something in the pipe keeping the port open .

thx again .
raspy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 01:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

frost free hydrant ?


It only has to be off a little bit to stop it from working right.
Look it up on the net, there may even still me a rebuild kit avalible.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help My Admiral Refrigerator is leaking water Cuwillis Appliances 10 03-25-2014 09:21 AM
Mansfield Frost Free - Drip After Rebuilding TWG1572 Plumbing 0 04-25-2012 03:05 PM
shed frost hydrant leaking underground amakarevic Plumbing 15 03-08-2012 09:52 AM
copper adapter on frost hydrant amakarevic Plumbing 7 07-13-2011 08:27 PM
frost hydrant installation amakarevic Plumbing 5 08-22-2010 03:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.