Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-22-2013, 07:46 PM   #1

Share |

First Time Growing "Grass"

Ok this is my first time growing grass , Loom will be drop and spread out 4-6 inches next is where do I start? I have been asking an every one says to use a "First Start" seed and Fertilized some have a number 1 and 2?
What is the best way to start do I lay Fertilized first then seed? got about 1600 sq feet to do.

Attached Thumbnails
First Time Growing "Grass"-100_1239.jpg  
bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 03:02 AM   #2

You can successfully plant grass in the dead of winter. Of course it wont come up till spring but it will come up ANY TIME you plant it. Check the package for planting conditions though... There might be some sensitive seed out there that I'm not aware of. Oops. I didn't see your request for step-by-step directions, so I'll edit this. !) buy seed. 2) open seed bag and dump into a seed spreader (20-30 bucks at a hardware store), or if you want just take any empty container you can carry and just go around the yard spreading it with your hand! You can't really go wrong with planting grass seed, I mean it. 3) If you can, get some straw and lightly cover the seed with the straw. But its not really necessary. You don't really have to water it if it rains occasionally where you are. 4) Go inside and have a pina coloda and in about 2 weeks, you will see grass start growing, it's that easy!
woodlandpatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 06:57 AM   #3

It depends what type of seed your planning on growing. Bluegrass? Don't plan on having drinks like patio said. It needs daily watering until it reaches 4".