Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-11-2010, 11:39 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Fire Pit on Gravel

This is my first time on the forum, and I am new to DIY, so please forgive me for any dumb questions.

I am planning a wood burning square fire pit...interior dimensions of approximately 3' x 3', and height approx 22". It will be sitting in an 16' x 16' area that is about 18"-22" of 3/4"-1" gravel (I will eventually put seating in there around the fire pit). There is a 4" perferated drain pipe under the location for the pit (about12" under the gravel) and leads downhill to outside the fire pit area. I have stone for face of the firepit, and firebrick for the interior.

Here are some of my plans, and questions regarding them. Please feel free to advise on if you think my plans are a bad idea or have better.
  • 4'x4' concrete 4" base for the FB and stone face. I will recess this to be flush with the gravel surrounding it. Would it be better to do a solid slab, and then line the entire botton with FB, or leave the middle open for drainage and just a gravel "floor"? My question with leaving the gravel floor is once I have ash in the firepit, will it just make mud and prevent drainage later or, or wil the ash eventually make its way to down to the drain and plug it up?
  • If best to do the full slab, should I leave some gaps on the first one or two layers of the FB walls and face stone for drainage?
  • I am planning on using Heatstop II mortar for the FB. If I do the full slab and line the floor with FB, should I still mortar the FB on the floor?
  • Should I leave a gap (couple of inches and then fill with mortar) between the face stones and FB, or mortar the face stones directly to the FB?