Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2011, 09:42 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Fence Post Replacement in Existing Concrete


I am trying to replace one fence post in an awkward area between a garage foundation and a sidewalk. The old post was completely rotten and I did not want to break out the old concrete around it due the adjacent slabs and foundations. It appears that the sidewalk was poured the same time as the post was installed. I removed the old rotten post to a depth of 12", but the new treated post is a very tight fit. Should I just try to beat it it or are there some other tricks I can employ (maybe dry out the new post to shink it)? This post only supports a 1' section of fence and functions to latch the gate to. Thanks!

ggunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 09:45 AM   #2
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,137
Default

Fence Post Replacement in Existing Concrete


If you need to shave the post down to make it fit, you can use a rasp, draw knife, plane, or wood file to do so.

Daniel Holzman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 02:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Fence Post Replacement in Existing Concrete


I was brave and used a 12 pound sledge. It took about 24 whacks to drop it to the bottom of the hole. It is plumb and very solid in addition to saving all of the treated wood. Thanks!
ggunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 02:09 PM   #4
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,707
Default

Fence Post Replacement in Existing Concrete


Sounds like a good solution. The concrete provides the lateral strength an you got the wood and concrete to work together.

Dick
concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 09:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,062
Default

Fence Post Replacement in Existing Concrete


It's obviously too late now but was the bottom of the hole for the post concrete or gravel? If it's concrete that was a major part of your problem because the water couldn't drain from around the post. If you embed a posting concrete the bottom definitely needs to be open, preferably sitting in a gravel bed.
Msradell is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post in concrete and getting plumb. fabian Building & Construction 29 08-07-2011 08:16 PM
How to replace a loose fence post preciouschristy Building & Construction 2 05-14-2011 05:06 PM
Re-using post holes in concrete philS Building & Construction 8 05-04-2009 08:15 AM
DIY Replacement of a Wood Fence rcraftlady Building & Construction 4 03-11-2009 06:03 PM
Fence Post Problem cdubim Building & Construction 3 03-12-2007 01:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.