Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2008, 05:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Driveway gravel base is too wide. Help


The gravel base for my soon to be poured asphalt driveway is 2 feet too wide accordinf to my town. How can the asphalt be poured without somehow creating 2 feet of walled earth?
thanks

picsaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 02:46 PM   #2
Don't know it all, yet!
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Metro Atlanta, GA
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Driveway gravel base is too wide. Help


Too wide?
That's a new one on me. Maybe it's too close to the right of way or property line? Heard of a lot of problems with a base that is too thin, not packed, etc. but never too wide. Have you discussed this with a paving contractor? Does your town codes tell you it has to be removed? Do you know for sure that it's going to be a problem?

I suppose that this could come under hardscape, but just wondering if Construction wouldn't be more appropriate for this?

__________________
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right. If you wouldn't put your name on it, it ain't done right!
downunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 09:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Driveway gravel base is too wide. Help


I dont mean the gravel itself used is too wide. I mean the driveway basically needs to be moved 2 feet to the left to be in code, making the gravel base that was created 2 feet too wide on one side. I need to know if something could be place on the base to stop the asphalt from filling in that two feet in question.

thanks
picsaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 06:44 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: just north of atlanta
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Driveway gravel base is too wide. Help


take up the base & move it to the other side,,, the paver screed determines where the blacktop mat'll be placed,,, save yourself the addl work & just move the base,,, OR leave it alone & add 2' on the other side.


blacktop is NOT liquid so it won't 'run' on you asphalt cement IS liquid til it cools but that's only an ingredient of blacktop (asphaltic cement concrete - stone - asphalt - sand - dirt )
yes.itsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 09:11 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Driveway gravel base is too wide. Help


thanks!
Just to make sure i understand you correctly, on the side that is too wide, i should be able to leave that as is (don't have to fill back in or place a border) and the asphalt can still be poured in a straight line 2 feet in from the edge?
picsaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 12:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: just north of atlanta
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Driveway gravel base is too wide. Help


blacktop's not 'poured' - it is PAVED,,, blacktop's a mixture of heated rock, dirt, sand, which is sprayed w/hot liquid asphalt cement then trucked to jobsite,,, it is then dumped into a box & extruded from a paver under a heated screed & left as a soft mat,,, after its rolled, it further cools & becomes a flexible solid,,, short answer to your question's ' YES ! ! ! '

your paving guy already knows this - don't you trust HIM ? ? ? &, if not, why'd you hire him ? ? ?
yes.itsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 06:25 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Driveway gravel base is too wide. Help


i trust my paving person. but when i called to tell them this needed to be done, the woman tyhere said she didnt know if it could be done and she'd get back to me. i guess she just didnt know the consistncy, like me.

thanks for the help.
picsaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 06:44 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: just north of atlanta
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Driveway gravel base is too wide. Help


i'd bet you got a new voice at the answering svce,,, can't imagine any paving employee not knowing something this basic - good luck !
yes.itsconcrete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 01:56 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Driveway gravel base is too wide. Help


and do interlocking to increase your porperty value.... consider when asphalt is applied, you need to spent thousands to remove it to do interlock... if you do interlock now... it is the best time and easiest way to do it... I wish I did that...

KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gravel Driveway covered in weeds cwest94 Landscaping & Lawn Care 8 11-15-2008 11:13 PM
Pouring a concrete slab - Do I need a 4" gravel base? tokuzumi Building & Construction 2 11-27-2007 07:40 PM
3/4" Gravel on Sloped Driveway not locking - help? WynsWrld98 Landscaping & Lawn Care 7 10-17-2007 11:02 AM
gravel driveway darren Landscaping & Lawn Care 4 05-15-2007 05:24 PM
Gravel Driveway WildCadillac Building & Construction 2 05-10-2007 11:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.