Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-19-2012, 04:16 PM   #1

Share |

Cutting landscape fabric

I've never used landscape fabric before. What do you cut it with? Will normal scissors work or do I need something bigger. Thanks

phil74501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 04:30 PM   #2
paper hanger and painter

Cutting landscape fabric

Quote:
Originally Posted by phil74501 View Post
I've never used landscape fabric before. What do you cut it with? Will normal scissors work or do I need something bigger. Thanks
Scissors might work but a heavy utility knife might be better
Attached Images

chrisn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 10:53 PM   #3
DIY Freshman

Cutting landscape fabric

Scissors may work but my suggestion would be to use a utility knife similar to the one in the picture below. I use a hooked blade instead of a standard straight blade because I find it easier to use when kneeling on the ground custom fitting the fabric around obstacles or plants that are already established. Just as a note of advice, when putting down fabric and you need to cut a hole for something already established don't cut a circle. Cut an X and tuck the corners under. This will help minimize the amount of sunlight that gets past the fabric and therefore keep the weeds at bay. Good Luck!
elessar007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:03 PM   #4

Cutting landscape fabric

I stopped using landscape fabric long ago. Ever seen a pro landscaper using it?

It will not stop the weeds from growing right through it.

Remove all the weeds and grass by the roots, spread Preen, apply 4" of mulch then add more Preen over it.

Don't belive me try just laying a piece on the lawn and weight it down and see what happens in a few weeks.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 01:24 AM   #5
Too Short? Cut it Again!