Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-15-2013, 01:38 PM   #1
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Share |

Case Against Lawns - Waste Water/Kill Bees

Interesting article including tidbits about turf rebate programs. It really is getting to the point where decisions will have to be made on whether we have drinking water or putting greens in our front and backyards.

http://www.treehugger.com/lawn-garde...ught-bees.html

As a former turfgrass manager I have mixed emotions but do know sprawling lawns make no sense in the context of water rationing or, as is increasingly the case in some parts of the country, water simply not available!

Southwest Texas, for example, is in terrible shape. New Mexico has renamed the river through it the Rio Sand this year. Drought is only part of it. Fracking takes 25 percent of the availed fresh water supply. I live in a State that is draining its aquafores faster than they can replenish. By Supreme Court decision we cannot just take as much of Lake Michigan as we want.

An interesting history of lawns is embedded in a link in the above and published in Scientific American. Here is the direct link.

http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/...al-grass-lawn/

I do think it is time to rethink how much turf we really need, and ultimately can afford in terms of its extreme resource demands. How about smaller front and backyards in return for more common turf areas.