Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-13-2009, 12:47 PM   #1
jbk

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Can Rocks & Roots Damage Mid-tine Tillers?

We're landscaping a yard that the previous owner had neglected and let overgrow for a few decades. We had 3 trees and various bushes cut and stumped but there are still some undiscovered roots in the ground. Plus the soil is clay with lots of rocks, most of them the size of chicken eggs and smaller. I was going to rent a mid-tine tiller from Home Depot to break up the packed dirt before planting lawn & other plants. I've never used a tiller before. Can they be damaged if their tines caught a buried root or a big rock? The worker at Home Depot didn't seem very knowledgeable about it.

Also, someone said a power rake could be used to pick up rocks (but not pebbles) that are mixed in the dirt, once I till and break up the dirt. Is that true? Does that work?

Thanks.

jbk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 02:04 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Rocks will damage the tiller. Be sure Home depot is not going to hold you responsible for this damage. Or at least get the insurance. Roots will not hurt it, but dig a little at a time or they will wind up around the shaft and bind the machine.

Yes.. a power rake is the way to go. But you need a skid steer and knowledge on how to do this. I use my harley power rake for this task all the time. The roller has carbide teeth that dig into the dirt and kick the rocks to the surface. I basically plow the rocks into a pile. Might get about 2 tons of rocks from a typical yard. This would have to be done by a professional. Usually specializing in new lawns.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 08:43 PM   #3
Don't know it all, yet!