Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-12-2010, 04:36 PM   #1

Share |

Can I grow a fruit tree in a pot

I live near Louisville Kentucky and would like to grow a dwarf fruit tree or trees in a pot so that I can move it inside in the winter. Sweet cherry and/or grapefruit would be my first choices. Can I and/or do I need to use a grow light when the trees are indooors?
envirengrdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 06:33 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

As long as these get some light, even indirect sunlight you will be fine.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 06:53 AM   #3

I have a lime tree I've been growing in a pot for 8 years. Hasn't produced a lime yet. It really isn't happy when it's indoors. This winter I left it out, so as soon as it warms up I'll find out if it's cold hardy to 20F.

If you only bring it inside for a few months it will be OK, but if you keep it indoors you need a lot of light. Even outside, if you have it on a porch under a roof it might not get enough light (mine didn't).
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 09:33 AM   #4

I would only bring them inside during freezing weather. Most of the year I would move to sunny area. Would need to keep smaller that about 8 feet tall and consider pollination (need for additional trees). Do you know why you are not getting limes? Any suggestions on types and varities of fruit trees that I should try?
Old 01-15-2010, 10:07 AM   #5
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Hope you are not planning on filling fruit baskets with the potted trees?

First thing that will be missing is the bees. And, if you have been watching? They have been disappearing from a lot of real orchards. You will have to find a way to polinate your plant without them.