Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-03-2012, 03:09 PM   #1

Share |

Building a an exposed aggregate sidewalk with river stone

Hi. I'm new. Not sure if I'm in the right forum for this question but I'll give it go. I need to build an exposed aggregate concrete sidewalk (using river stone approx 3-4" in diameter) that will wind down a 15 degree hill slope gradient for about 30 feet.

I'm concerned mostly about the gradient. Will this have to be stepped or can it be done contiguously without steps?

In either case, do you have to build a custom 2x4 frame (as I see most regular sidewalks made)? What about gradual curves? Could I use something like flexible plastic landscape edging for the framing and then remove the edging when finished? I've got a lot of experience with building various kinds of walkways/paths, but I've never built a concrete sidewalk of any kind.

Any help/advice would be deeply appreciated, but ideally you should assume you're talking to a complete idiot. I'd love to see some step by step instructions for this if possible.

Last edited by oh'mike; 06-04-2012 at 09:11 AM. Reason: added spaces for ease of reading
WayneBollman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 03:39 PM   #2

Here's a picture I found online of approximately what I'm trying to do: http://www.renovateyourworld.com/MyP.../506-small.jpg Imagine this about twice as long and on a slight slope and slightly curved in couple places. Also, what about expansion joints? Do I need them? This is in Austin Texas (very hot in summer) but in the shade. Since posting this I was told I could use thin flexable fascia board (with stakes) for the curved framing because it's relatively cheap and easy to work with. Does that make sense?

Old 06-03-2012, 08:33 PM   #3
Too Short? Cut it Again!