Any Practical Way To Remove A Hedge Fence? Beginner Here - Landscaping & Lawn Care - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-28-2009, 11:09 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Any practical way to remove a hedge fence? Beginner here

I am a 30 year old male. My grandmother wants a hedge fence removed. However, she was quoted a price of $400-too high for her in today's economy. I am a novice..I am not sure if there is any practical way for me to remove it myself. Any assistance would be appreciated.

Jim

Advertisement

jamesrwrightiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 11:36 AM   #2
DIY Hack

Rewards Points: 504

when you say "hedge fence" is this just a grouping of boxwoods or something growing that makes a divider or boundry?

Advertisement

Mr Chips is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 11:50 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Chips View Post
when you say "hedge fence" is this just a grouping of boxwoods or something growing that makes a divider or boundry?
It is sort of both. The property it borders is an alleyway which is owned by the borough. There is no private property on the other side of the fence-just the public property and they do not care if the hedge fence is removed.
Old 08-28-2009, 11:53 AM   #4
Remodeling Contractor

Rewards Points: 152

Tie a chain or cable around it near the roots,hook it to the frame on your car/truck and pull!
oldfrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 11:59 AM   #5
DIY Hack

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldfrt View Post
Tie a chain or cable around it near the roots,hook it to the frame on your car/truck and pull!

that's my suggestion as well, except use a woven tow strap instead of a chain or steel cable if you can get your hands on one. it's a lot safer if you pull too hard and it comes flying through the air and hits your rear window!!