Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2010, 03:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 26
Share |
Default

Wire staircase railings


Hello!

So I've decided to remodel my entire stairwell - stairs included. It's a very "modern" style house, but I have to say, it's not looking so modern anymore. I'm trying to restore that look . As you'll see in the photos below, there's no railing! There were some at one point, but that was removed years ago (I recently purchased this house from my parents, btw). There's a strange "kneewall" of sorts at the top of the staircase that really closes things off - that's gotta go. Don't get me started on the carpet! But the main thing right now is the railing.

My plan is to do a sort of "wire railing" using galvanized steel wire pulled taught between 1" square steel tubing. Something like this - LINK or LINK. I'm just wondering if anyone out there has done something similar to this and could lend some advice.

I'm having trouble deciding what exactly is the best way to do it. My current plan is to bore 1-1/2" holes into the tops of the stingers and embed the Steel tubing with epoxy or some other type of adhesive. I did some sketches to get the idea across - see last image. I figured this could give a "clean" look without having to weld any special brackets for the steel. It would probably be pretty sturdy if I sank the posts in deep enough. What do you think? I'm also having trouble with how the wire cable wraps around. (highlighted in yellow in my sketch). I feel like this might be a little awkward.

Anyway, I'm just kind of brainstorming here, so any help anyone can offer would be great!

Photos of existing staircase: 1, 2, 3, 4

Sketch of railing concept: 5

Thanks!!
Pineapple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 05:41 PM   #2
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 6,642
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Wire staircase railings


If you will go to Project Showcase
Post photos of your projects here.


Coco, has used the SS wire in some of his rails. There are many many post in his thread. You will have to look and see where the picture are or make a post and ask Coco.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 09:35 PM   #3
Member
 
cocobolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Gulf Islands, B.C., Canada
Posts: 6,367
Default

Wire staircase railings


Hi Pineapple...if you go to post numbers 41, 42 and 43 on my Gulf Island Building thread, there is an example of stainless steel wire - not galvanized - on the railings I did for a good friend of mine.

I'm also still in the process of doing some more stainless wire on the railing in front of our master bedroom. I don't have the post number right off hand for that, but I can certainly dig it up if you like.

Last edited by cocobolo; 10-16-2010 at 05:34 PM. Reason: spelling
cocobolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 06:05 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,114
Default

Wire staircase railings


1st link will never pass code, #2 might. Spacing has to be less the 4 1/2", so a child can't get their head(or body) thru it.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 06:27 AM   #5
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 6,678
Default

Wire staircase railings


Be sure to check your local code.

Over here the standard 4” spacing is 3” for a cable rail system due to the give in the cable.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 05:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 727
Default

Wire staircase railings


I have to admit I never worked with wire railings, but if you put the wire horizontal like in your concept sketch, those newel posts better be solid as a rock. The wire is going to have to be under tension to look right. And I think we are talking about a heck of a lot of tension.
Maybe Cocobolo can explain how he handled this issue ?
I would think using stainless steel tubing would make your project a lot easier.

EDIT - OK, your concept sketch is missing the handrail, which would hold a lot of the tensile forces. But I think the tension on those cables could present issues.

Last edited by SPS-1; 10-16-2010 at 05:36 PM.
SPS-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 06:28 PM   #7
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 6,678
Default

Wire staircase railings


I do quite a bit of cable rail, mostly exterior. It’s all about the right hardware for a clean look.

Check out this site.
http://www.feeneyarchitectural.com/cablerail.php

You’ll get lots of ideas with all the specs. I use a combination of my designs and materials and use their hardware.

Feeney can get quite pricey so I only buy the special connection hardware from them.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom

Last edited by kwikfishron; 10-16-2010 at 06:32 PM.
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 07:28 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,528
Default

Wire staircase railings


There's at least 100 companys in the US making cable railing systems, just do a Google search.
Use stainless not galzinized.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 09:01 PM   #9
Stair builder
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 251
Default

Wire staircase railings


Cable rail on the rake is a pita to do. The holes are drilled at an angle so the bit wants to skip. This is really a pain on the curbed skirt, the bit wants to tear out on the up hill side of the bore. I prefer round pipe to square because you don't have to square the holes. As mentioned the spacing has to be closer so that a 4" ball with (I think) 40# of lateral force cannot pass though, however I've never seen an inspector do more than push down on one strand. Have a turner turn a piece 1" over the size of pipe and then bore for pipe OD, then slice off discs to cover bore holes. Also as mentioned your drawing will not pass code, use 2 posts for turning corners otherwise your cables run into each other.
Attached Thumbnails
Wire staircase railings-dscf2158.jpg   Wire staircase railings-dscf2159.jpg  
Keith Mathewson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fanimation ceiling fan question: no blue wire from ceiling camrn2006 Electrical 8 03-07-2010 12:19 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
Burial wire and a seeming difference of opinion... SxS Electrical 19 02-24-2009 09:16 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.