We Need Your Opinions - Remodeling - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2007, 05:24 AM   #16
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

We need your opinions


Quote:
Originally Posted by nailfun View Post
Atlantic you are wise in many issues on this website, but style you have lost it if you want that wallpaper to stay. For once I am eons ahead of you. And im not speaking for my taste but the taste of thousands ive dealt with.
Umm...read my post again....and see the last line on it that reads:
J/K
Translation: (Just kidding - Joker icon) = I WAS JUST KIDDING....

Nailfun, that misunderstanding doesn't bother me at all.


However, I've got to say this:

I'm with Darylh on his last post on this thread....Nailffun, you need to be more discrete, a little more modest, a little nicer, and less harsh and demeaning in your posts towards people's questions. I'm surprised at what you wrote in your post and how you wrote it.

This isn't a forum for openly criticizing people's properties, choices & decorative ideas as if it were 'American Idle' .... and you are NOT Simon Cowell....Tho you seem to like to 'come off' as such, and label it as 'just being honest'...

As stated earlier in this post...misunderstandings happen.
But, my concern is about how you treat the people that come on this forum for help. Bluttness doesn't help anyone who is simply asking for help or suggestions. There is a nicer and more respectful way to offer your opinions without denegrading people, their homes or their choices ....

That last sentence is a strong suggestion that has nothing to do with DIY - It's simply about how to treat people decently...That too, is a key aspect about this forum ....

So, could you please tone-it down a little? Thanks -

- My 2 cents -

Advertisement

__________________
- Build Well -

Last edited by AtlanticWBConst.; 02-21-2007 at 08:56 AM.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 09:42 AM   #17
Member
 
Darylh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nanoose Bay Vancouver Island BC
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

We need your opinions


"Nailfun" I don't paint Wallpaper, I never have recomended it to anyone. Just a little tack in how one exspesses onself so it doesnt sound rude but a suggestion.

Last edited by Darylh; 02-21-2007 at 09:46 AM. Reason: Forgot something
Darylh is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 12:10 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

We need your opinions


Thanks for all the frank (and sometimes blunt) words of advice........we asked for honest opinions and received them.

So we have finally decided to take your advice and remove the paper.

We are looking at the Wagner 905 Power Steamer due to it's versitlity for other uses (http://tinyurl.com/yrezft).....does anyone have any experience with this unit?
Boatnuts is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 04:28 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

We need your opinions


You guys DO get carried away. I vote to remove, one consideration nobody has mentioned, is this stuff vinyl or vinyl coated.........it probably is and that means that the only way to change it is to take down. I sell real estate and I agree that it can turn people off, but PLEASE do not paint everything white! That turns my clients off more than you know. Pick a nice soft neutral....Benjamin Moore has some great ones.....Tapestry Beige was one that looked great with white woodwork. Also saw "desert tan" and everyone going through loved it. You're on the right track........good luck. Best advice from a RE agent is to remove clutter, a number one turn off. Looks like nice house.
neophyte is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 05:21 PM   #20
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

We need your opinions


good for you, you are removing it.

I totally agree with neophyte's opinion.

BM's summer harvest colour looks really great. I have that in my entrance.
yummy mummy is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 09:40 PM   #21
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

We need your opinions


yes I am blunt but honest. i want it that way. complete honesty. any less would be hiding from myself and doing the public an injustice. maybe thats why im married 22 years and most of you divorce in 1 year. try being honest for a change, youve all gotton to practiced at masking the truth.
Speaking of the truth, it takes about 20 minutes to heat up the wallpaper stripper. It starts steaming out the end when its ready. put the steamer on the wall for 12 seconds.Any more may damage the sheetrock face or melt the paint under the wallpaper. Knick a corner of the paper with a razor knife. The trick is to keep the the steamer moving every 12 seconds and you or your friend peel as you go. Its messy but keep at it. if the wallpaper splits leaving a brown paper left on the wall, spray it down with hot water and a garden sprayer after steaming. wet that bad boy down good and kill the power before so you dontzap yourself hitting an electrical outlet with water. And wear safety glasses.
I realize this is lengthly and tons of work. But be thinking of the fool that decided to put the wallpaper there in the first place without a primer. You will grow to hate that person over time.
Hopefully they primed the area and youll be a happy camper, with an easy paper removal.
 
Old 02-21-2007, 10:04 PM   #22
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

We need your opinions


.....................you sound really angry...................
I hope it's not because you have been married 22 years?
While most of us are happily divorced?
yummy mummy is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 11:28 PM   #23
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

We need your opinions


over the years ive gotton so sharp i get blunt. what is the basic truth to me is an insult to you. my wife of 22 years and i enjoy each other so much, its truely special. no fears, just tell the truth. i truely am many levels past the average person in the relationship field. i wish all of you the best in your relationship endevors.
 
Old 02-21-2007, 11:56 PM   #24
despriate4repairs
 
depriate4repair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Granger, Indiana
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

We need your opinions


it definatly needs to go. sorry just a female point of view but the wall paper feels old school. its way too leave it to beaverish. i know when i am looking at houses the house has to feel freash and young and to be nice about it uhm well that dont. i love the stairwell or what i can se of it. the house looks large and nice but yeah you so need to ditch that wall paper!
__________________
Kelly

I ditched the old project and desided to buy a new house. i am still working on closing in but look its so pretty! Good bye indiana! Texas i am coming home! http://picasaweb.google.com/lcdallas/StonecrestMar2007?authkey=uBdQZFC_Fnw
depriate4repair is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 07:11 AM   #25
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

We need your opinions


Glad to see it go and the BJ paints are awesome!

When you remove the paper, if the top come off the base, use a 25/75 white vinegar/water in a squirt bottle to soften the wall paper glue.

Good luck,

Rip
RippySkippy is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 09:38 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

We need your opinions


Nailfun..............dude........get some anger management help, and vent on a different thread. We're supposed to discuss DIY here, not angst.
neophyte is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 10:42 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 220
Rewards Points: 150
Default

We need your opinions


Glad you chose to remove the paper! Nailfun, since you express your emotions, feelings and thoughts openly and enjoy bluntness, I know of a forum where that behavior is acceptable, PM me for details. You'll enjoy it.

Oh and Nailfun.....

Last edited by harleysilo; 02-22-2007 at 11:05 AM.
harleysilo is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 10:31 PM   #28
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

We need your opinions


I am an expert in my field. I have made millions were most fail. I come here to chuckle at the lower game, as well as bow to the few sharp people out there who might surpass me in ten years or so. I love the game, and the game loves you. Beware Im well past you.
 
Old 02-22-2007, 10:59 PM   #29
despriate4repairs
 
depriate4repair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Granger, Indiana
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

We need your opinions


Can i get that form name...
__________________
Kelly

I ditched the old project and desided to buy a new house. i am still working on closing in but look its so pretty! Good bye indiana! Texas i am coming home! http://picasaweb.google.com/lcdallas/StonecrestMar2007?authkey=uBdQZFC_Fnw
depriate4repair is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 11:17 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

We need your opinions


I am now sorry I posted my question to this forum.

Advertisement

Boatnuts is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crystal windows - any opinions? tpw408 Building & Construction 17 09-21-2013 12:35 PM
Flexitec flooring - need opinions taylort Flooring 6 02-25-2010 06:28 PM
Shopping for a laser level - opinions appreciated. Kevin K Tools 8 05-08-2007 06:43 PM
Seed, Sod, or Rock? (opinions wanted) tigerbalm2424 Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 03-23-2007 12:51 PM
Need opinions on toe kick under cabinets kestut Remodeling 4 12-05-2006 05:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts