We Need Your Opinions - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2007, 11:31 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

We need your opinions


We’ll be selling our house in a few years and have started thinking about changes and improvements we need to make that will both increase the marketability of the house AND be worth the effort and expense.

We have striped wallpaper in shades of beige, mauve and blue in the two story foyer that runs through the upstairs and downstairs hallways. The paper was put up when the house was built in 15 years ago.

Please take a look at the pictures posted at:

http://profile.imageshack.us/user/bo...aper004lo8.jpg

Please then give us your honest opinion on whether the paper should stay or go.

BTW: The wallpaper is still in great condition!

TIA for your comments.

Advertisement

Boatnuts is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 01:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Floorwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Alaska!
Posts: 1,522
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

We need your opinions


Wouldn't work up here in AK.

Best to make it look bright and white.

Advertisement

Floorwizard is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 02:57 PM   #3
Remodeler
 
MinConst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill FL.
Posts: 436
Rewards Points: 250
Default

We need your opinions


It should go.
__________________
Minichillo's Construction
I will never leave you hanging!
Web
One Man Shops
MinConst is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 04:09 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

We need your opinions


I vote go as well. Feels very dated.
hyper is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 04:18 PM   #5
Home Improvement Guy
 
ron schenker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 351
Rewards Points: 250
Default

We need your opinions


Say bye bye
ron schenker is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 04:38 PM   #6
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

We need your opinions


I agree, it should go. Looks dated.
Need to inject something fresh.

The effort will be worth it.
A really nice paint job, going neutral to appeal to most people?
yummy mummy is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 09:45 AM   #7
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

We need your opinions


Dissention vote: .... Keep it...













J/K
__________________
- Build Well -
AtlanticWBConst. is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 06:53 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

We need your opinions


We have decided to adequately prep the paper (sanding the seams) so we can paper over it with a nice neutral paper.

Thanks for all your comments and suggestions.
Boatnuts is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 12:40 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 220
Rewards Points: 150
Default

We need your opinions


The last thing I want to do is buy a house in which I'll have to remove wallpaper. It really is a turn off, especially if there is a lot of it.

It should go, and you should paint, not new wallpaper. IMHO
harleysilo is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 05:07 PM   #10
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

We need your opinions


If you want to change the look remove the paper. Problem may be is that the paper was installed with no prep to the walls and will be impossible to remove. Installing another layer on top will compound the problem. This would be someting I would not want to buy.
Brik is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 11:01 PM   #11
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs down

We need your opinions


I flip houses and all I can say is most of my buyers would puke if they saw that wall paper in any home.... For god sakes remove it! For your own good. You werent seriouly thinking that was a nice look were you?
No cut intended but take it from me, a man who has never had a property last more than 8 days on the market, TAKE IT DOWN NOW!
Trust me I defy all odds.... follow me on this one......
 
Old 02-20-2007, 11:05 PM   #12
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs down

We need your opinions


Atlantic you are wise in many issues on this website, but style you have lost it if you want that wallpaper to stay. For once I am eons ahead of you. And im not speaking for my taste but the taste of thousands ive dealt with.
 
Old 02-20-2007, 11:20 PM   #13
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

We need your opinions


Removal of wallpaper comes in two ways. Slow and slow. some of it peals off slow and the rest steams off slow. Either way the tools to do it cost under $60. Follow the directions youll be fine.
If you want a real detailed expert opinion, then ask me and Ill direct you to a website. its free expert advice. NO CHARGE NO CATCHES!
I understand the dilema of the up and coming business person needing answers to their problem. Im glad to honestly help any wallpaper questions. Im well past the best in this field. Ask away!
PS dont expect a normal answer, as fast and good many times doesnt make sense to the average person in society.
 
Old 02-20-2007, 11:22 PM   #14
Member
 
Darylh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nanoose Bay Vancouver Island BC
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

We need your opinions


I also vote to take it down and just repaint. Its hard to get 2 people to decide on a wall paper and is a turn off for most new buyers.
Nailfun I find your post very rude and a total lack of respect. We are here to help people get on the right track and help out with there ideas and explain how to do things that are relevant. Being rude doesn't cut it with me at all and I think you should apologies.
Darylh is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 11:52 PM   #15
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

We need your opinions


My bluntness is honesty and nothing more. take it for nothing more. I would hope more people would face truths these days.
And not to be rude but painting over wallpaper has bad happenings. Most of the time the wallpaper peels up at the seems, as well as at the top of the base board and where the paper meets the ceiling. If is doesnt happen the day you paint it, it will happen a month or two later, which shows a total lack of experience on your part to advise anyone to paint over wallpaper. And not to mention the potential bubbles in the wallpaper when the paper gets wet. Sometimes you get lucky and it contracts as it drys, and other times you are left with big bubbles in the wallpaper, and YOURE SCREWED! Get out your CHECKBOOK!
Based on experience of course. Buy the darn $50 steamer. Email me and Ill tell you how to do it. THE PAPER HAS TO GO IF YOU WANT TO SELL!

Advertisement

 
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crystal windows - any opinions? tpw408 Building & Construction 17 09-21-2013 12:35 PM
Flexitec flooring - need opinions taylort Flooring 6 02-25-2010 06:28 PM
Shopping for a laser level - opinions appreciated. Kevin K Tools 8 05-08-2007 06:43 PM
Seed, Sod, or Rock? (opinions wanted) tigerbalm2424 Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 03-23-2007 12:51 PM
Need opinions on toe kick under cabinets kestut Remodeling 4 12-05-2006 05:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts