DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Remodeling (http://www.diychatroom.com/f15/)
-   -   We need your opinions (http://www.diychatroom.com/f15/we-need-your-opinions-6566/)

Boatnuts 02-18-2007 10:31 AM

We need your opinions
 
We’ll be selling our house in a few years and have started thinking about changes and improvements we need to make that will both increase the marketability of the house AND be worth the effort and expense.

We have striped wallpaper in shades of beige, mauve and blue in the two story foyer that runs through the upstairs and downstairs hallways. The paper was put up when the house was built in 15 years ago.

Please take a look at the pictures posted at:

http://profile.imageshack.us/user/bo...aper004lo8.jpg

Please then give us your honest opinion on whether the paper should stay or go.

BTW: The wallpaper is still in great condition!

TIA for your comments.

Floorwizard 02-18-2007 12:50 PM

Wouldn't work up here in AK.

Best to make it look bright and white.

MinConst 02-18-2007 01:57 PM

It should go.

hyper 02-18-2007 03:09 PM

I vote go as well. Feels very dated.

ron schenker 02-18-2007 03:18 PM

Say bye bye:yes:

yummy mummy 02-18-2007 03:38 PM

I agree, it should go. Looks dated.
Need to inject something fresh.

The effort will be worth it.
A really nice paint job, going neutral to appeal to most people?

AtlanticWBConst. 02-19-2007 08:45 AM

Dissention vote: .... Keep it...













J/K :jester:

Boatnuts 02-19-2007 05:53 PM

We have decided to adequately prep the paper (sanding the seams) so we can paper over it with a nice neutral paper.

Thanks for all your comments and suggestions.

harleysilo 02-20-2007 11:40 AM

The last thing I want to do is buy a house in which I'll have to remove wallpaper. It really is a turn off, especially if there is a lot of it.

It should go, and you should paint, not new wallpaper. IMHO

Brik 02-20-2007 04:07 PM

If you want to change the look remove the paper. Problem may be is that the paper was installed with no prep to the walls and will be impossible to remove. Installing another layer on top will compound the problem. This would be someting I would not want to buy.

nailfun 02-20-2007 10:01 PM

house flipper here
 
I flip houses and all I can say is most of my buyers would puke if they saw that wall paper in any home.... For god sakes remove it! For your own good. You werent seriouly thinking that was a nice look were you?
No cut intended but take it from me, a man who has never had a property last more than 8 days on the market, TAKE IT DOWN NOW!
Trust me I defy all odds.... follow me on this one......

nailfun 02-20-2007 10:05 PM

Atlantic failure
 
Atlantic you are wise in many issues on this website, but style you have lost it if you want that wallpaper to stay. For once I am eons ahead of you. And im not speaking for my taste but the taste of thousands ive dealt with.

nailfun 02-20-2007 10:20 PM

Wallpaper removal
 
Removal of wallpaper comes in two ways. Slow and slow. some of it peals off slow and the rest steams off slow. Either way the tools to do it cost under $60. Follow the directions youll be fine.
If you want a real detailed expert opinion, then ask me and Ill direct you to a website. its free expert advice. NO CHARGE NO CATCHES!
I understand the dilema of the up and coming business person needing answers to their problem. Im glad to honestly help any wallpaper questions. Im well past the best in this field. Ask away!
PS dont expect a normal answer, as fast and good many times doesnt make sense to the average person in society.

Darylh 02-20-2007 10:22 PM

I also vote to take it down and just repaint. Its hard to get 2 people to decide on a wall paper and is a turn off for most new buyers.
Nailfun I find your post very rude and a total lack of respect. We are here to help people get on the right track and help out with there ideas and explain how to do things that are relevant. Being rude doesn't cut it with me at all and I think you should apologies.

nailfun 02-20-2007 10:52 PM

im baffled
 
My bluntness is honesty and nothing more. take it for nothing more. I would hope more people would face truths these days.
And not to be rude but painting over wallpaper has bad happenings. Most of the time the wallpaper peels up at the seems, as well as at the top of the base board and where the paper meets the ceiling. If is doesnt happen the day you paint it, it will happen a month or two later, which shows a total lack of experience on your part to advise anyone to paint over wallpaper. And not to mention the potential bubbles in the wallpaper when the paper gets wet. Sometimes you get lucky and it contracts as it drys, and other times you are left with big bubbles in the wallpaper, and YOURE SCREWED! Get out your CHECKBOOK!
Based on experience of course. Buy the darn $50 steamer. Email me and Ill tell you how to do it. THE PAPER HAS TO GO IF YOU WANT TO SELL!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved