Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-29-2010, 07:47 AM   #1

Share |

Water pipes behind basement insulation

Hi, I'm a complete newbie trying to finish my basement. I'm attaching a picture of my basement wall. I don't know what to do with the water pipes running in the middle of the wall. If I move the frame and insulation forward, putting the pipes behind, do I risk having the water freeze during the winter? I live in central Illinois.
Thank you.

ariapn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 08:23 AM   #2
Military Mom of 4

Ok, what exactly are you doing? Are you building a wood wall over top of your brick and then actually finishing the wall off with drywall? Or are you just putting up insulation?

Insulation should always go behind pipes if the pipe is within a wall for a few reasons - #1, if the pipe ruptures you don't want it hiding behind insulation which would slow down a speedy repair or even hide a leak, which would invite a lot of water damage. #2, PVC sometimes becomes more brittle with cold - it's rare, though, that drain pipes burst because the water inside isn't under pressure (and this is a drain pipe - see the cleanout cap on the right? That's so you can clear out of a clog from the line). Water-lines (hot and cold) burst when the water inside freezes and the pipe cannot expand with the ice - and it ruptures.
There should be some type of access to the pipe (at least the area of the pipe that has the cleanout cap) so you can maintain as is necessary. If you're putting up drywall you can buy an access-door for this purpose, just be sure there is enough room for someone to actually get access to the cleanout cap through the entry.

Old 03-29-2010, 09:13 AM   #3

I would put 1/2" rigid foam against the brick if possible
Then re-attach the pipe hangers
Then build the wall to encase the pipes
Put insulation in but not in front of the pipes