Want To Update Kitchen Cabinets - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-07-2012, 01:23 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Want to Update Kitchen Cabinets

Hello,

I just recently bought a house and the kitchen cabinets have an outdated finish on them and I would like to update them by giving them a new stain. They are in good condition, it's just the color is not my taste. What is the best way to go about changing the stain on them? I'm new to DIY projets but would like to try and tackle this in a cost effective way!

Any suggestions or ideas would be much appreciated!

Advertisement

nikki1846 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 07:31 PM   #2
Craftster

Rewards Points: 77

Gel stain will be an easier fix than regular stain, you'd have to sand everything down to bare wood before staining all the doors, drawer fronts and cabinet faces/external sides; with gel stain you just clean the cabinets well (TSP is good for this) then just do a light scuff sand to rough up the finish and give the gel stain a better grip. Once you get them the tone you want, put on a couple coats of polyurethane to protect them.

I'd suggest you practice with the gel stain on some scrap wood to get a feel for it, it's sort of a mix between paint and stain (but much thicker than either), you can rub it on with an old clean cotton tube sock or use a brush but if you've never worked with it, practice some before tackling a big job like kitchen cabinets.

Advertisement

ghostlyvision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 12:04 AM   #3

but note that sanding the previous stain off of them will take a ridiculous amount of time, and hard work. Especially if the style of the doors are complex.
Toilet Bowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 11:46 PM   #4
DIY-er

Rewards Points: 75