Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-06-2012, 12:37 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Upcoming basement project

Howdy all,

I am just beginning to put together my plan of attack on the basement of my home. I have about 792 square feet of floor space that's currently demo'd down to the floor joists above, and insulation on two of the four walls.

Some of the challenges I will need to work through are the heat registers (I have a boiler and radiant heat), inconvenient support poll location, an aged fuse box, single pane windows in cinderblock walls and asbestos floor tile.

Well I guess knowing is half the battle.

Here are a few pictures of what I am working with.
The stairwell

The entire room (thank you iPhone panoramic camera)

Other random pictures

I would like to frame in the North, East and South block walls so I can run electrical and cable wires. I’d also like to add additional insolation there as well. One thing I am concerned about here is how to frame the walls with the heat registers that run along most of the baseboards. I’m at a loss as to how I can work around this. Maybe use alloy studs and frame just outside of them and have a metal grate run along them? Something with a semi designer look?
I would like to use something like the image below and possibly have low watt lighting inside as well. The North half of the room is going to be a theater so a soft glow would be pretty neat.

I would appreciate any suggestions, tips or tricks you think may aid me in this project.

Thanks for taking the time to read through all of this!

Warm regards

Jason

Last edited by JasonSm; 11-06-2012 at 12:58 AM. Reason: Spelling
JasonSm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:49 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 75