Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2013, 01:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Steel column to slab connection


I will be replacing a load bearing wall with a drop steel beam. The beam will be supported with steel columns. My question is: The current floor is Terrazo, so will I need to cut through the Terrazo to the slab for the column connection with the anchor bolts?
Thank you

floridashaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 01:43 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,459
Default

Steel column to slab connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by floridashaughn View Post
I will be replacing a load bearing wall with a drop steel beam. The beam will be supported with steel columns. My question is: The current floor is Terrazo, so will I need to cut through the Terrazo to the slab for the column connection with the anchor bolts?
Thank you
You will need to do more than cut through the terrazzo.
You will need to cut through the slab and install proper footing to support the weight of the load the post will be carrying. Usually a 2'x2'x2' footing is good but you need to have it spec by and engineer.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
floridashaughn (10-08-2013), joecaption (10-08-2013), Live_Oak (10-08-2013)
Old 10-08-2013, 01:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Camden County, NJ
Posts: 122
Default

Steel column to slab connection


x2 on the engineer. I just did this in my house and a 2 x 2 x2 footer was spec'd by the engineer in NJ

In order to lock in place, I simply dug the footer an extra few inches and then concreted over the base
__________________
Thomas


South Jersey - Camden County

Last edited by tjbingha; 10-08-2013 at 02:07 PM.
tjbingha is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tjbingha For This Useful Post:
floridashaughn (10-08-2013)
Old 10-08-2013, 04:04 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Steel column to slab connection


Thank you guys!!
floridashaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
beams, columns, concrete, steel, terrazo


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Column location for LVL Beam Perry401 Building & Construction 1 09-10-2013 11:27 PM
Can a 12X20 slab be moved/slid 6 feet? tominblaine Concrete, Stone & Masonry 13 05-30-2013 05:55 AM
Slab for brick column.. What would you do? no drain blues Concrete, Stone & Masonry 27 05-29-2013 10:29 PM
24 x 24 x12 Footer tjbingha Concrete, Stone & Masonry 23 01-28-2013 12:17 PM
which is better to fasten a 3x3 aluminum column to a concrete slab ? filo74 Building & Construction 5 04-29-2010 07:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.