Slab - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2009, 02:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

slab


I would like to know how to replace a wood subfloor that has been put over a crack slab. We were wanting to place another slab over the existing slab

Advertisement

Mrtngui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 05:20 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

slab


It really depends on how it was built in the first place. If it was put in after the building was completed, you would remove it in reverse order.
Base moldings, finished flooring, subfloor and floor joists.
Is this in a basement or a garage?
Ron

Advertisement

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 10:01 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

slab


The house caught on fire. So when they rebuilt instead of pouring a new slab they built a subfloor with plywood and studs. We would like to do away with the subfloor and add a slab on top of the other slab
Mrtngui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 11:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

slab


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrtngui View Post
The house caught on fire. So when they rebuilt instead of pouring a new slab they built a subfloor with plywood and studs. We would like to do away with the subfloor and add a slab on top of the other slab
Depending on what surrounds this added structure, an additional slab may be inappropriate.
Just because you have a fire, would not mean you would build the structure you indicate. Why would you cover the thing that wouldn't burn, with something that will burn.
It would help if you told us where this structure was located in the house.
Is this a slab on grade house with no basement?
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 07:17 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

slab


It's the main slab with no basement we live in louisiana. the reason they did the subfloor is because the slab cracked.
Mrtngui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 09:07 AM   #6
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,822
Rewards Points: 2,278
Default

slab


Ayuh,... So rip out the Wood,+ pour concrete...
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 10:13 AM   #7
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,300
Rewards Points: 2,178
Default

slab


This is a bit puzzling. You say the original slab cracked, so the owner? put in a wooden subfloor over the slab to "solve the problem?" Now you want to remove the wooden subfloor, and place more concrete over the old slab. But you do not indicate that the original problem that caused the original slab to crack has ever been addressed.

Given that you are in Louisiana, there are large parts of the state that are subject to expansive soils. You may have an underlying foundation problem, possibly a drainage problem, or you may be on expansive soils. If so, putting down more concrete will cost you money, and will result in two cracked slabs instead of one. You need to hire a company or an engineer to determine the cause of the original problem, then you need to fix the problem, before you spend more money creating a new problem.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 11:39 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

slab


the slab cracked do to the fire. the put the wooden subfloor then rebuilt on top of it

Advertisement

Mrtngui is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cement slab touches buildings cbuisman Building & Construction 2 06-09-2009 11:24 PM
Suggestion for new sidewalk slab flyboy_ont Landscaping & Lawn Care 7 05-22-2009 12:15 PM
Extending Concrete Patio Slab bobo Building & Construction 6 04-17-2008 01:17 PM
Filling hole in carport (concrete slab) chaddihimself Building & Construction 2 08-10-2007 01:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts