Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-24-2006, 07:32 PM   #1

Share |

shower wall-please I need advice

I'm remodeling my bathroom.I have some experience working with tile before.I'm trying to put new walls before the new tile ( I want to put hardibacker1/2" moisture protection), but I found out that one of the shower's wall was built in plaster over cinder blocks.
What I'm trying to do is nail some furring strips(5/8) on the cinder block in order to install the hardi backer on it.
My concern is : Are the furring strips enough support to hold the new wall plus the new tile... besides the cinder blocks are holed inside?
I really appreciate any suggestion. Thanks.

Ferkla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 06:27 AM   #2

Do you have wood framing members on the sides of this wall?

redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 10:09 AM   #3

Yes, there is wood framing on both sides of the wall.(here is the picture)
http://f3.yahoofs.com/users/4203dc9b...odjxEBA_Bd3wNH
thanks for your help.
Old 07-25-2006, 11:56 AM   #4
They're all fixer-uppers

Broken link
J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 02:51 PM   #5

ok I think I have the picture this time. sorry! (attach)
Attached Thumbnails
shower wall-please I need advice-3899re2.jpg  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:00 PM   #6

I was going to suggest to run same thicker wood strips from one side of the wall to the other rather then up and down the wall. They would have to be spaced closer together for added support. That way you would be able to attach the furring strips to the wood side walls. This may not be possible with your situation.

If the cinder blocks are solid why not seal them and then glue and nail the hardibacker directly to the cinder block?

May want to place a vapor barrier between the hardibacker and the cinder blocks.

Did this wall have tiles before?