Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-06-2013, 09:47 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Shower Pans... Want strong, durable, and price right.

This is my first time going through a remodel and I want to know what I'm talking about to my contractor when we see him later. I want to make sure their doing it correctly and not taking short cuts.

I've been researching for the right product for remodeling our bathroom from tub to shower.

I went to Lowe's and looked at their shower pans that does not need tiling, which I'm thinking maybe the way to go. But after time goes by, how well will the pan hold up? I don't want to feel like I'm going to crack the pan and fall through like the old bathtub in my grandmother's house.

I was also thinking about Tile Redi pan. I've read on here that Tile Redi isn't a very good product. The installation is a pain in the ass as with the mortar isn't attaching to the pan.

The Schluter Kerdi system seems a better way, but don't you have to use a UnModified mortor and can you purchase that at my local hardware store? Once I start tiling, do I have to use a special thin-set? If I order a larger preformed then what my actual space is, can I cut the form to make it fit?

Is there anyother product out there that is also as good and stands behind their product?

I want the right product for my money and that I don't have to buy "special adhevise" only from their company.

Thank you for anyone who can help a Newbie out!
JustMissPeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 07:28 AM   #2

To me your post is confusing.
One place your talking about using a one piece pan and not tiling it, at the end of the post your talking about what to use to tile it.
Which way are you going to do it? Tile, or not for the pan?