Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-02-2012, 12:32 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Sanding and staining kitchen cabinets, remove?

hey all,
sorry if this is a basic question but this is my first time doing this. when refinishing kitchen cabinets should i remove the uppers from the wall and sand and stain or leave them mounted and refinish while attached to the wall? thanks

troyer16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 12:42 PM   #2
DIY Enthusiast

Either way would work.
More work to remove them though.

sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:09 PM   #3
Too Short? Cut it Again!

On the other hand, as long as you mark them so you are not scratching your head as to where they go when you put them back, cabinet doors are a lot easier to deal with laying horizontal and flat in the garage or wherever if you have the space.

And you were not planning on going through all the effort of refinishing your kitchen without removing hardware to clean it or update it too right?
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:21 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsester View Post
On the other hand, as long as you mark them so you are not scratching your head as to where they go when you put them back, cabinet doors are a lot easier to deal with laying horizontal and flat in the garage or wherever if you have the space.

And you were not planning on going through all the effort of refinishing your kitchen without removing hardware to clean it or update it too right?
i should have been more clear. i took the doors off to refinish them and am replacing the hardware. was wondering about the actual cabinets.
troyer16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:41 AM   #5