DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Replacing Inside Window Trim

3K views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  Termite 
#1 ·
A couple of years ago I had vinyl replacement windows installed. My trim was all stained so the installers used a clear silicone caulk. Since the inside of the windows are white, I started painting my trim. This particular window's trim is in bad shape, my own fault, from years of changing out curtains, shades, and blinds with new nail holes each time!
I am finally getting to that room to paint. There is so much caulk around the window that it is impossible to paint...it just won't adhere at all! So, I decided to just replace the whole trim work.

My vinyl windows were installed from the outside into the existing frames. I am concerned about taking off the inside trim and possibly messing something up on the windows. I'm not expecting the windows to fall out or anything like that :whistling2: but it is a little intimidating!

Can anyone give me some pointers to getting this job done. I have the molding and miter box, just need some encouragement and instructions! Thanks!

#2 ·
Your windows won't fall out when you remove the trim. Use a small pry bar or a very stiff putty knife to work the trim loose from the wall. Of course, the trim is nailed to the wall studs, header, and sill around the window. Take note of where the nails are positioned (just the studs or perhaps the jamb extension as well) and their size(s).