Repairing Wood Around Stucco - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-28-2012, 09:50 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Repairing wood around stucco

Hi, I'm a home repair contractor and have the opportunity to repair some rotted wood members set in stucco on the gable of a garage. However, I know that homes built between 1930 and 1980 or so use construction materials containing asbestos as a binding agent, stucco being one of those.
I've already suggested to the homeowner that he send for a diy test kit that will return results in less than a week for only $40, but he doesn't think it's necessary.
My question is how risky do you think it is to undertake the repair of these wood members if I'm certain that the surrounding stucco will be disturbed--and likely have to be repaired as well--when I replace the wood? Certainly, if the stucco contains asbestos fibers, they will be released into the air and become a hazard. Obviously, I could wet down the surface area with a spray bottle, but I still think the stucco is friable enough to become airborne even with this approach.
I need to respond to the customer quickly, so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, guys!

Advertisement

kerschk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 11:13 AM   #2
AHH, SPANS!!!

Rewards Points: 1,032

that is your call, How badly do you need the work. Recommend to the homeowner that you will not do the work if a test is not done and they will find someone who does not care whether or not the stucco has asbestos in it. Even better, you need to hire a stucco guy if the stucco is bad so ask the stucco guy if the stucco has asbestos in it. He will likely know

Advertisement

hand drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 03:42 PM   #3

hand drive,